Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) has the concepts of Energy Meridians. These meridians are channels through which the life force energy (Chi) flows within the body, not unlike blood vessels. There are 12 meridians on the arms and legs and they correspond to 12 body parts (one of which does not exist in standard medicine):

  1. (HT) Heart
  2. (PC) Pericardium
  3. (LU) Lung
  4. (SP) Spleen
  5. (LV) Liver
  6. (KD) Kidney
  7. (SI) Small Intestine
  8. (TH) Triple Heater
  9. (LI) Large Intestine
  10. (ST) Stomach
  11. (GB) Gall Bladder
  12. (UB) Urinary Bladder

There are also 2 meridians that go in the middle of the body:

  1. (CV) Conception Vessel
  2. (GV) Governing Vessel

Along these meridians there are about 400 points that are considered important. These are called acupoints. The points, each has a name, traditional and a short name constructed of two-letter meridian abbreviation and a number (for example: GB20). Each point serves specific function according to chinese tradition. Stimulation of acupoints using pressure _ or using needles (acupuncture)_ can alleviate health conditions related to the points. Previously, I published a link to an online acupressure guide that lists what points to press for which health problems.

Tapping on acupoints is also used as part of EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) which is easy to learn and very helpful in various situations, especially where emotions are involved.

If you want to learn more about the meridians and acupoints I’ve found a great resource which you might want to bookmark:
Acupuncture Points Database